In light of the issues, we have been facing with spammers on the forum we have decided to move the HearingLikeMe community to a Facebook Group.

We believe that a Facebook Group will be more appropriate for the community to engage as it offers all the functionalities and security required to keep it free from malicious users.

We will close the HearingLikeMe forum in January 2018, in the meantime, you can already request to join the group here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/HearingLikeMe/

We are looking forward to meeting you there and continue the conversation.

Kind regards,

The HearingLikeMe Team

Organizations That Focus on Hearing Loss and Deafened Adults

Member Posts: 1 Join Date : 27 Sep 2013
I am new to this Hearinglikeme blog and it is set up beautifully. It is well thought out, beautifully organized, informative and above all provides a safe and comfortable forum for those countless others who face the challenge of living is a hearing loss. It ain't fun, but at least communicating with others that truly understand our plight is a blessing undisguised.

In addition to blogs such as this there is something to say about meeting in person with others who have to struggle with hearing loss, despite the assistance of hearing aids and cochlear implants.

When we were children as long as another kids lived on our block or close by we cared not about how our personalities were not identical nor if they were stronger or weaker, or smarter or duller, as long as could play together we never could get enough of them.

We needed friends to ride bikes with, go to movies with, laugh with and fight with.

And just because we no longer have normal hearing ability does not mean we miss that at times.